Ddeokbokki Town + Korean-only rule chatting @ Coffee Smith~

I guess I’ve made it pretty much an unspoken rule to myself to separate my korean travels posts with my college week in seoul more mundane kinda posts? Haha. I might start separate posts for cafes too like “Week 8’s Cafes” i think that’ll be fun 😀 damn i should’ve thought of it earlier haha!

SO this won’t be a long post since it’s just Ddeokbokki Town but yep!

Zenn was asking me that day if I wanted to go to Ddeokbokki Town. I was hesitant at first because Wednesday was a really long class day but after that i figured out meh why the hell not. So I met her and Shaun and somehow or another we made up the Korean-only rule. Haha. It was tough at first but it got so comfortable towards the end of the day, we still struggle and google the vocab we don’t know but otherwise sentence structure wise they don’t flow as awkwardly.

Basically i expected Ddeokbokki town to be a street of street stalls where we stand around and eat, but turned out that it was a street of dining houses that serve their Ddeokbokkis in full dishes complete with ramyun, eggs, fish cakes etc. Which is actually what i prefer considering how hungry i was~

20140416_201022

oh god blur picture and signage lights blown out HAHAHAH. Regardless… Ddeokbokki Town~

20140416_201611

Before everything is cooked!

20140416_202443

LOOKS DAMN DELICIOUS NOW :<

It’s per person basis, it was 14000won for three people which is around $16. A totally okay amount for such great rice cake and food 🙂 And there’s ramyun :)))) Ramyun is the love of my life :)))

The soup will boil down to a thick paste similar to what you find on normal street ddeokbokki.

How to get to Ddeokbokki Town: Take the Subway Line 2 or 6 to Sindang Station, Exit 8. Go straight until you reach Jungbu Fire Station and turn left. Don’t pass the station! Turn left when you see it and you will see the sign from afar.

After that we headed over to Coffee Smith, which is a branch cafe, but idk it exudes so much class from outside i always wanted to go in!

2014-04-22-18-29-54_photo

This is taken not on the same day of cuz haha it was kinda late when we reached back Sinchon but we kinda wanted to continue our chat elsewhere. I was actually having a lot of fun chatting in Korean but im pretty sure i expanded all my energy on that day and i rmbr for the next few days i refused to speak a single Korean. Too tired LOL

Not going to post directions for Coffee Smith cuz it’s a branch cafe haha.

That was also the day we found out about Sewol. Remember it dinstinctly. Sewol sank that morning but I only managed to hear the news at night when there was time to breathe. It was devastating. 😥 I feel really strongly about this incident perhaps beause I’m living in Korea right now. Sigh. But I won’t go there, i’ve talked about it a lot on Twitter hahaha.

Leave a comment